Day 33 and 34 (the end)

I woke up to my final day in New Zealand on Great Barrier Island (a serenely beautiful place but very far from civilisation and an airport. I did have a slight doubt about the ferry and if it were not to arrive I would definitely miss my flight home). We hitch hiked to a village near the ferry terminal where we rented kayaks for a couple of hours to pass the time and soak up the scenery of the Island. Fortunately the ferry did arrive (although 30 minutes late) and a long 4.5 hour ferry ride back to Auckland followed. There were however, huge bottle nose dolphins which swam alongside the boat for some time which was quite amazing. I ate some proper food in Auckland before going to the bus stop where I briefly skyped my ‘kiwi’ family. Unfortunately the bus came and I had to leave them to go to the airport. 24 hours worth of flying ahead and a nice little time change to go with it. This is the worst part of my travels so far – leaving NZ for the Uk.

Day 34

After a day of travelling I am finally home! I have had the best two months of my life and I will definitely be returning to New Zealand.

Leave a comment